Kernel 0verflow

Welcome to my Blog 👋🏻

My First Post - 2024-06-24

Hey Everyone

Welcome to my blog!

I'm glad you found my website. I've wanted to create one for a long time to share the knowledge I've accumulated over the years with the world. I already have a personal website, but on an anonymized one with a pseudonym, it's easier to be honest in certain areas without facing real-life consequences.

Why Neocities?

Some might argue because it's free. However, that wasn't even necessarily my reason. I already have a VPS server where I run a website. Since it doesn't get a lot of traffic, it wouldn't have been a problem to install it there as well.

I chose Neocities because I'm very enthusiastic about the community and the fundamental idea of preserving the web of the 2000s, formerly through Geocities.

A few words about me. Who am I?

I was born in 1998 and only experienced these old websites from a distance. However, I did experience them because I started working with computers very early. Since my childhood, I wanted to start a blog because I learn a lot in my free time (especially computer science stuff) and wanted to share this acquired knowledge. I didn't do it for many years, and now, after actively and intensively working with web development for a year (to make a career change), I was finally ready to start a personal website.

What exactly is this website?

Nothing special yet. Unfortunately, it's not as creative as the others I've found here. Also, it's not pure HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. Why, you ask? I know it's one of the basic principles of Neocities to build your website as simply as possible. However, I wanted to try a new tech stack and used it directly for this project. I mainly use Angular (or vanilla HTML, CSS, and JS). Since Neocities only supports static hosting, that wasn't an option. Also, I wanted to publish blog articles and write them in Markdown. I would have had to convert everything manually. That wouldn't have been a big problem, but I wanted to see what alternatives there were and if I could automate the process in any way. That's when I came across Next.js.

Why Next.js?

I've heard of Next.js many times but never really looked into it in detail. Also, I have no experience with React. As I mentioned, I mainly use Angular.

Meanwhile, I really like Next.js, and it's really fun to work with. However, I'm still a beginner and want to learn a lot more. Generating the website as a static page was also a bit complicated because some parts of the site were always rendered as server components, but in the end, it worked.

What's next?

I'm not 100% sure yet. I will definitely document the process of how I built my website with Next.js as a blog article so that it's easier for others to build their own website with it for Neocities. I also want to make the site more creative. It currently looks very unfinished, which bothers me. But I wanted to publish something first. I also want to add an RSS feed, but I'm not quite sure how this is possible with Next.js in any automated way, but I'm pretty sure it works somehow.

Until next time and have a wonderful day, evening, or rest of the week!